top of page

Patterns and Forces

The studio began with the act of collecting objects from our immediate surroundings that spark interest within us. These objects can have a simple structure or a mechanism that goes unnoticed in our everyday life.


After collecting a few objects, this paper clipper interested me more than any other object I collected.

( following is the image of the paper clipper)

What are these objects? How do they function? What forces do they produce? Do they or not serve any utility? How are the mechanics structured?


After choosing our objects we started to analyze them, and spend time with them to figure out how the paper clipper works or how is its mechanism.

Started to sketch it accordingly.

(following are sketches of my object and the sketches of its mechanism)






After understanding its mechanism, I identified the forces acting on the paper clipper and imagined the object in planes.







The studio helped me look at these objects closely as I began sketching them out in detail. I opened the system physically and in my drawings, to understand the smaller parts and their function. I identified the forces of compression and tension and how they make the object function.


The larger idea was to develop an approach of looking closely at these objects every day and deciphering how they work and what makes them so. It made me question the form in several instants and what makes the objects the way they are.












Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page